The Texas Massage Therapy Licensing Program
Massage therapists in the State of Texas must complete an application for massage therapist licensing. The Texas Massage Therapy Jurisprudence exam must be taken and passed, and applicants must provide evidence of federal certification as well. Types of licensing include massage therapist, massage establishment, and continuing education provider. The owner of a business seeking licensure as a massage establishment must complete the exam.
In addition to passing the jurisprudence exam, practitioners who are applying for a massage therapy license must complete the application, provide an official transcript and a photocopy of their social security cards, and provide evidence of having successfully completed the federal certification exam. The application fee as of summer 2010 is $117. Business owners must also pass this exam.
Practitioners interested in teaching continuing education massage therapy classes are responsible for knowing and understanding the Massage Therapy Act, which is found in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 451. Additionally, applicants must agree to departmental rules as explained in the Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 140, Subchapter H. These rules are concerned with the regulation of massage therapy. In addition to the application form, supporting documents must be included. These documents include a high school diploma or GED, as well as an official college transcript evidencing twelve semester hours. Applicants must also include a statement declaring 500 hours of hands-on massage experience and take a 30-hour course designed to train teachers of adult students. The application fee is $215 and must be included.
Last Updated: 05/21/2014